As Seattle grunge vets Soundgarden march towards the release of King Animal, their first new studio full-length since 1996, the band has unveiled a new and especially potent new track from the record, titled “Non-State Actor.” The song – the third to be released from the album – features classic Soundgarden complexity among the brutal riffs, and one of singer Chris Cornell’s most inspired and throat-shredding vocals in years.

Stream the song here.

King Animal has a lot of layers to it,” Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell recently told our San Francisco sister station, Live 105. It’s something that will take time for people to kind of digest and it’s not something I could describe to you right now or that you will understand based on listening to the first single. There’s a lot going on.”

When King Animal drops on November 13, hardcore fans should be aware that a special deluxe version of the album will be available at Best Buy, boasting an additional five demo versions of tracks from the release. The day before the album comes out (Nov. 12), Soundgarden can be seen performing Live on Letterman with a free webcast from the historic Ed Sullivan Theater. Watch Soundgarden’s performance Monday, November 12th at 8PM ET/5PM PT here.

“Yes, we’ve been away for 15 years and now we’re back,” Cornell continued in the aforementioned interview. “It’s about time. And we still have something to say about rock music that no one else is saying and I feel confident about saying that. I think we definitely do.”

King Animal tracklist:

  1. Been Away Too Long
  2. Non-State Actor
  3. By Crooked Steps
  4. A Thousand Days Before
  5. Blood On The Valley Floor
  6. Bones of Birds
  7. Taree
  8. Attrition
  9. Black Saturday
  10. Halfway There
  11. Worse Dreams
  12. Eyelid’s Mouth
  13. Rowing

–Scott T. Sterling, CBS Local


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From Jack Seattle FM

Watch Us Now, Regret It Later
Song Mysteries Solved
How Much Facebook Is Too Much Facebook?

Listen Live